Bountiful Basket #2

This week, we got…

  • a pineapple
  • lettuce
  • asparagus
  • 10 pomegranates (they were extra)
  • cucumbers
  • grapes
  • butternut squash
  • pears
  • applees
  • bananas
  • tomatoes
  • green bell peppers

and now I have to figure out what to do with 2 pineapples (we still have last week’s)… and how to cook a butternut squash… and how to cook asparagus that won’t make me puke.

Growing up, I hated asparagus.  And of course my evil parents would make me clean my plate.  So if we had asparagus, I would either drown it in salt & eat it quickly, with a full glass of milk as a chaser, or sit at the table for hours, hoping they would relent (they never did, by the way).  My only hope now is that fresh asparagus tastes better than canned.  Otherwise, Cody had better love asparagus 🙂

Although this is only our second basket, we are definitely eating healthier (partially out of guilt over letting fresh produce go bad… partially because eating better has been a goal of mine… partially because being healthy to any degree makes me feel smug).  Tonight, we had chef salad with a little bit of everything.  Over the past week, we’ve had tacos, nachos, steamed broccoli & spaghetti squash spaghetti, a frittata for breakfast, and lots of fruit as snacks. 

Leave a Reply

