Birthday Pupcakes

Today, January 12, is Piper’s second birthday!  It’s hard to believe she’s been part of our family for so long… but it seems like she’s always been here.  When I’m home, I’m never alone: she follows me everywhere (and even waits outside the bathroom for me).  She snuggles on the couch with me and warms my feet in bed.  She even acts like me: laid-back, with a sensitive stomach.  And, of course, she loves having her picture taken!

I was pretty excited to find this recipe because…

  1. It’s specifically for dogs (no more human cupcakes for them!)
  2. It uses up some of the whole wheat flour I have left over from my pre-GF days
  3. It proves I’m not the only one crazy enough to make cupcakes for my dogs’ birthdays!
  4. They turned out really well… probably the prettiest cupcakes I’ve ever made

Birthday Pupcakes

from Prevention RD

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 c water
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp double strength vanilla (I used regular old vanilla extract & didn’t get any complaints)
  • 3 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tb baking powder
  • 2 tb honey
  • 1/2 c peanut butter

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350.  Spray cupcake or mini-cupcake pan with non-stick cooking spray, or line with cupcake liners
  • In a large bowl, mash bananas with a fork.  Add rest of ingredients & mix well
  • Fill muffin tins to the top of the well
  • Bake mini-pupcakes for 15 minutes (or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean)
  • Bake regular pupcakes for 25 minutes
  • Allow to cool for 3-5 minutes in the pan, before inverting onto cooling rack.  Allow pupcakes to cool completely before feeding to your dog
  • Yield: 48 mini-pupcakes… I got 14 regular pupcakes

And these are safe for humans… apparently they taste like bananas (according to a certain husband of mine…)

Leave a Reply

