Easy Spaghetti Squash

While trying to eat healthier and gluten-free, I’ve been avoiding pasta… which is difficult, because pasta used to be my go-to dish, the one thing I could cook well.  I’ve definitely branched out over the last 6 months, but I’m still drawn to pasta-ish recipes…

One way I’ve replaced pasta is with spaghetti squash.  I like to eat it as spaghetti, with some spaghetti sauce on top.  And it’s good as a side dish (I could seriously eat a whole squash in one sitting… but I have some restraint).

You can bake the squash… or take the easy way out & microwave it.  I really hope the plastic wrap doesn’t give off chemicals in the microwave.  If I ever find out that it does, I guess I’ll have to start baking the squash.  Until then…

Easy Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Cut the spaghetti squash in half lengthwise (I usually get Cody to do this.  I’m not exactly safe with large knives)
  • Scoop out the seeds & stringy insides.  Discard
  • Place one half, cut side up, on a glass pie plate (I don’t use a dinner plate because I’m afraid the heat will crack it. But you can try it)
  • Put 1/2 stick of butter inside the hollow of the squash.  Sprinkle with salt & pepper to taste.
  • Cover with plastic wrap.  Microwave for 25-30 minutes.
  • When the squash is done, discard plastic wrap.  Allow to cool before scooping insides into a bowl.
One thought on “Easy Spaghetti Squash

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash Lasagna | Cooking Sugar

Leave a Reply

