4B’s Cream of Tomato Soup

As you may know, 4B’s is/was a Montana-based restaurant that served delicious tomato soup.  My mother-in-law, Kathy, gave me a bunch of family recipes for Christmas a couple of years ago, including this one.  We had a bunch of tomatoes from our Bountiful Basket, so I planned to make tomato soup… when I mentioned my meal plan, Cody immediately suggested this recipe.  I modified it a little, to take advantage of what I had in the pantry.  Cody loved the soup… and I thought it was OK.  The chunks of tomato bothered me a bit, but it was still tasty 🙂

4B’s Cream of Tomato Soup
from 4B’s Restaurant, via Kathy

Ingredients

  • about 8 c diced tomatoes, fresh or canned
  • 14 oz chicken broth
  • 2 tb butter
  • 2 tb sugar
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 c cream or half & half

Directions

  • Mix tomatoes, chicken broth, butter, sugar, onions & soda.
  • Simmer for 1 hour.
  • In another pan, slowly heat the cream (don’t let it boil). 
  • Add cream to soup & serve.
Leave a Reply

