Chicken Broccoli Stir-Fry

When I first saw this recipe, I thought it sounded delicious.  So I put it on our meal plan for the week.  Unfortunately, I usually just skim recipes, then print them off.  And that back-fired this time…

Because I was too lazy to go to the grocery store, and I have a rule to never buy ingredients that I’ll only use once or that I’ll waste a lot, I had to make some serious substitutions.  Luckily, it turned out tasty!  Cody mixed the sauce the sauce for me… and said it smelled nasty.  But, once I poured it over the chicken & broccoli, he was all excited because it smelled soooo good!  We both really liked it, so I’m sure this recipe will be making an appearance again. There weren’t even left-overs for lunch the next day 🙂

My substitutions are in parenthesis below.  I didn’t have hoisin sauce, fresh ginger, or fresh chili paste. I was too lazy to mince a teaspoon of garlic.  I can’t handle spiciness, so I chose chili powder over cayenne pepper.  So feel free to customize it to suit your kitchen & your tastes!

Chicken and Broccoli Stir-Fry

Adapted from Mother Thyme

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c chicken stock
  • 1 tb soy sauce (if gluten matters to you, check the label- La Choy is GF)
  • 1 tb tomato paste
  • 1 tb hoisin sauce (or 1/2 tb ketchup + 3/4 tsp honey)
  • 1 tb rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ginger, minced (or 1/4 tsp ground ginger)
  • 1/2 tsp ground fresh chili paste, like Sambal (or 1/2 tsp chili powder or ground cayenne pepper)
  • 2 tb cornstarch, divided
  • 1 lb chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 lb broccoli crowns
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced (or 1/2 tsp garlic powder)
  • optional garnishments: flax seed, sesame seed, green onions, scallions

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine chicken stock, soy sauce, tomato paste, hoisin sauce (or ketchup & honey), rice vinegar, brown sugar, ginger, chili paste (or pepper powder), and 1 tb cornstarch.  Stir until blended & set aside.
  • Generously spray a large skillet/wok with non-stick cooking spray.
  • In a medium bowl, toss chicken with remaining 1 tb cornstarch, salt, & pepper.
  • Add coated chicken to skillet & cook over medium heat, stirring frequently.  Cook until chicken is no longer pink in the center & juices run clear (about 7-10) minutes.
  • Add broccoli & garlic (or garlic powder), and cook until broccoli is just tender (about 3-4 minutes).
  • Stir in sauce, reduce heat to low, and cook until sauce is heated (about 2 minutes).
  • Remove from heat, garnish, and serve.

Note: the original recipe is shown served over rice… I didn’t even think of that until Cody mentioned rice while we were eating.  So, have rice if you want.  Or leave it out if you’re watching carbs.

Leave a Reply

