Homemade Pizza Sauce

As you may know, I’m slowly transitioning to healthier eating.  But… Cody still loves pizza.  I was able to satisfy his cravings after going gluten free, with a new crust recipe & a new brand of pizza sauce.  I’ve been reading a lot about the Paleo diet, so I’ve been paying attention to processed food… which led me to read the label on the pizza sauce in the fridge-  250 mg of sodium…. 10% of the daily value! In just 1/4 cup!  Honestly, I was shocked.

So I went searching for a homemade pizza sauce recipe.  Because I really wanted pizza, but I didn’t want it to kill me. And I worry about Cody’s sodium intake.  Luckily, All Recipes was there for me- and I was able to customize the recipe (thanks to a comment) to make a batch of dry mix for future use.

And so, you get 2 recipes at once!

Homemade Pizza Sauce

From All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
  • 3/4 c warm water (110 Fahrenheit)
  • 3 tb grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tb honey
  • 1 tsp anchovy paste (optional)
  • 3/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (I use chili powder instead)
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine all ingredients.
  • Let sauce sit for 30 minutes to blend flavors.
  • Spread over dough & prepare pizza as desired.

Homemade Pizza Sauce Mix

Ingredients:

  • 2 tb + 1 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 2 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I use chili powder instead)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • salt to taste

To make sauce:

  • 1 tb of the dry mix
  • 1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
  • 3/4 c warm water (110 Fahrenheit)
  • 3 tb grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tb honey

Directions:

  • Combine all dry ingredients in a pint Mason jar- shake to mix thoroughly.
  • To prepare sauce, mix 1 tb dry mix, tomato paste, water, Parmesan, and honey together in a small bowl.
  • Let sit for 30 minutes to blend flavors.
  • Spread over dough & prepare pizza as desired.
One thought on “Homemade Pizza Sauce

  1. Thank you! I’ve been trying to make more things from scratch to be healthier too. I’ve been wanting to make my own pizza sauce so this is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

