Baked Asparagus

I baked up some asparagus tonight, to go with our delicious grilled steaks.  I coated the asparagus with olive oil, then sprinkled on salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Parmesan cheese.  I found a recipe with those ingredients on All Recipes, but I didn’t follow the measurements given (which means I’m a real cook now, obviously).  I did use the oven temp given (425)… which resulted in a little bit of smoke when the Parmesan bits that fell off started to burn.

And I actually liked the asparagus.  No nauseating, mushy green smell… nice!  I got a lot of feedback regarding asparagus (which I really appreciate!), and I have to admit you guys were right.  Fresh, baked asparagus is soooo much better than the canned stuff!  I’m glad I gave asparagus another chance 🙂

Baked Asparagus

Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch asparagus spears
  • 3 tb olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tb grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Directions:

  • Trim the asparagus spears; grab each spear at both ends and slowly bend- the woody ends will snap off.
  • In a large bowl, drizzle the asparagus with olive oil.
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan, garlic powder, sea salt, and pepper.
  • Stir to coat each piece.
  • Spread out on a cookie sheet with edges.  If necessary, scrape the Parmesan out of the bowl onto asparagus; try not to let Parmesan touch pan.
  • Bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes, or until tender.
One thought on “Baked Asparagus

Leave a Reply

