Paleo Oat-less Oatmeal

Paleo breakfasts… scare me.  Really, WTF am I supposed to eat that doesn’t have any kind of grain in it, is dairy free, and is lean but full of protein?  I was fine with a bowl of Chex, or a bowl of oatmeal (although oatmeal bothers my stomach now), or  bacon & eggs.  But… not allowed.

So I was SUPER excited to find this recipe.  I totally let my enthusiasm overwhelm my skepticism- oat-less oatmeal?  Really?  Yes, really- it tastes like oatmeal!  Just make sure you use a non-stick pan, or a ton of cooking spray, because it really coats the pan.

This makes 2 servings, and it’s actually pretty filling, especially if you use whole eggs.

Oat-less “Oatmeal”

From Carrots ‘n’ Cake & Paleo Plan

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c liquid egg whites, or 3 egg whites, or 3 whole eggs
  • 1/4 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 c chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 c chopped pecans
  • 2 tb ground flaxseed
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Whisk together egg whites & almond milk.
  • Stir in walnuts, pecans, ground flax, banana, vanilla extract, and cinnamon; blend well.
  • In a medium saucepan, warm the mixture on the stove, stirring frequently, until the “oatmeal” reaches the desired consistency (only a few minutes)
  • Top with berries, nut butter, seeds, or whatever you’d like
  • I only had whole walnuts, so I put them in a baggie & smashed them with a hammer to get them small enough.
Leave a Reply

