Breakfast Smoothies

I start work at 7 am.  That means I have to leave at 6:30.  And I need all the sleep I can get.  So… I came up with a brilliant plan that allows me to sleep in until 5:30!

Now, I make a smoothie for breakfast & drink it on my drive to work… no more time wasted cooking breakfast 🙂 I’ve also been reading Wheat Belly by William Davis- he claims that wheat actually stimulates your appetite & causes your blood sugar to rise quickly, then crash… that’s why you get hungry only a few hours after eating.  I don’t know if I believe everything in the book, but it does make sense.  And these smoothies keep me full until 10:30 or 11:00, instead of 9:00 or 9:30.  So I’m happy with my new breakfast routine.

For more great smoothie recipes, check out Incredible Smoothies.  Or, just follow my formula for deliciousness!

Breakfast Smoothies

The basics:

  • 2 cups of spinach leaves (I usually just grab 2 big handfuls, I buy a 5 pound bag at Costco)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup of liquid (I use water to avoid dairy, Cody uses milk or orange juice)

The fruit (choose 2):

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (or other berries)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 1 orange
  • 5-6 strawberries

The optionals (I add both of these):

  • 1/8 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/8 cup (or 1/2 scoop) protein powder

Put your ingredients in a blender & make a smoothie!  I put the spinach in first, then the fruit- it seems to blend better that way.  I put everything, except spinach & water, in a plastic shaker thing the night before.  In the morning, I just dump it in the blender, so it probably takes 3 minutes to make breakfast. I shake the water in the shaker first, to get the rest of the protein powder & flaxseed out, then dump it into the blender. I then put the smoothie into the same shaker & head out the door.

 

Leave a Reply

