Baked Potato Skins

I’ve probably had potato skins once in my life… but I’ve thought they look tasty for awhile now.  So I decided to make some in honor of the Super Bowl.  But when I went looking for a recipe, I found a lot that involved frying.  I don’t fry food.  Ever.  I saute, but not fry.  Cody fries every once in awhile, but I don’t.  First of all, I think frying smells bad. And all that grease upsets my sensitive stomach.  And all that grease is bad for you.

So I was pretty happy to find a baked recipe.  And damn were they good!  Cody said they were as good as in a restaurant 🙂 I actually combined two recipes, one for the potato skins, and one for the baked potatoes.  Soooo good!

Baked Potato Skins

Adapted from All Recipes and What’s Cooking America

Ingredients:

  • 4 large baking potatoes
  • 3 tb olive oil + more for coating the potatoes
  • sea salt for coating potatoes
  • 1 tb grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 8 strips of bacon, cooked & crumbled
  • 1 1/2 c shredded Cheddar
  • 4 green onions, sliced (optional)

Directions:

  • Wash the potatoes.  Poke holes in the with a fork; at least 4 sets of holes per side.
  • Coat potatoes in olive oil, then in sea salt.
  • Place tinfoil on the rack in your oven; place potatoes on top of tinfoil.
  • Bake at 350 for 60 minutes.
  • Remove baked potatoes from oven.  Allow to cool, then rub most of the salt off.
  • Cut potatoes in half lengthwise; scoop out pulp, leaving a 1/4 inch shell.
  • Combine oil, Parmesan, garlic powder, paprika, and pepper; brush over both sides of the potato skins.
  • Place skins on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 475 for 7 minutes.
  • Remove skins from oven; flip each one over & return to oven for 7 more minutes, or until crisp.
  • Remove from oven again.  Sprinkle bacon pieces and Cheddar inside skins.
  • Bake 2 minutes longer, or until cheese is melted.
  • Serve immediately, topped with sour cream and green onions.
Leave a Reply

