Baked Eggplant Sticks

Last week, we got another eggplant.  While the eggplant pizzas I made last time were tasty, I wanted to try something different…

We had B & L over for dinner Saturday night; I was feeling pretty uninspired, so I finally settled on hamburgers & baked french fries.  The eggplant was starting to look a bit droopy, so I knew I needed to use it up… and this recipe fit in perfectly with my meal plan.  Almost everyone like them (they don’t taste super healthy… almost like french fries) & L even tried one (remember, he’s the super picky guy that only eats 4 vegetables willingly) and said “it’s not bad.”  Better than spitting it out 😉

Baked Eggplant Sticks

from Skinny Taste

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10 oz) eggplant
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 c breadcrumbs (I used GF Schar bread crumbs)
  • 2 tb Parmesan cheese
  • 1 egg white (as I typed this, I noticed, for the first time, the white part of that ingredient… I just used a whole egg)
  • cooking spray

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450.  Line 1 or 2 baking sheets (depending on how many eggplant slices you have) with parchment paper & lightly spray.
  • Cut ends off eggplant. Slice eggplant in half, then into 1/4 inch thick slices.
  • Lay each slice on the cutting board & cut into 1/4 inch thick strips.  Keep the strips the same size so they cook evenly.
  • Place eggplant strips in a bowl.  Season with olive oil, salt, & pepper. Set aside
  • Combine breadcrumbs & Parmesan cheese in a bowl, and scrambled egg white in another.
  • Dip eggplant strips into the egg white, then into the breadcrumbs.  Place on baking sheet.
  • Bake for 10 minutes in the middle rack.  If necessary, turn over & bake an additional 5 minutes, or until golden.
  • Serve hot.  The original recipe suggests dipping in marinara, but I thought they were fine plain.
Leave a Reply

