Tilapia Francese

Although I’m not a fan of fish, I had a coupon for tilapia filets… and I couldn’t let it go to waste.  So I bought a bag of filets… and had no idea what to do with them.  Thanks to my google reader, I found this recipe- lucky!

The filets smelled fishy at first, but, once cooked, didn’t taste fishy at all.  The lemon blends well with the tilapia- not overwhelming at all. Seriously, I actually liked this fish!

Tilapia Francese

Slightly adapted from I Was Born To Cook

Ingredients:

  • 4 tilapia filets
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tb water
  • 1 tb butter
  • 3 tb olive oil
  • 1/2 c flour (I used GF Better Batter)
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 tb dry white wine
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Place flour on a plate & season with salt and pepper.  In a small bowl, beat egg & water.
  • Heat oil & butter in a large skillet over medium heat.
  • Dip each filet in the flour, then in the egg.  Coat with flour again & place in pan.
  • Cook on each side for 2-3 minutes (it’s extra tasty if you get a brown crust on the filets)
  • Add lemon juice & wine; cook for 5-7 minutes more.  Add salt & pepper to taste, if desired.
Leave a Reply

