Cinnamon Vanilla French Toast

I hardly ever buy gluten free bread for myself, so I was excited when my sister in law bought me a loaf for our last visit.  As soon as I got home, I made myself some french toast.  And it was wonderful!  This recipe has  just a bit of extra flavor to push it over the edge of deliciousness.

Cinnamon Vanilla French Toast

A Cooking Sugar original

Ingredients:

  • 3 pieces of bread, or 4-5 pieces of gluten free bread (since the pieces are smaller)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tb milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • cinnamon to taste

Directions:

  • Beat egg, milk, and vanilla in a shallow dish.
  • Coat each piece of bread with the egg mixture on both sides.
  • Place in a large skillet, with a bit of olive oil if needed to prevent sticking.
  • Sprinkle cinnamon to taste on top of each piece.
  • Brown each side of the bread, flipping once.

Note: you can easily increase this recipe.  Use 1 egg for 3 pieces of regular bread.

Leave a Reply

