Stir Fry Sauce

This recipe is now in my rotation of easy meals.  I made a batch (which is enough for 4-5 meals probably) & froze most of it in an ice cube tray.  Now, when I want to make stir fry, I can just go to my freezer, where I have sauce, chicken breasts, and veggies (I got a big bag of mixed stir fry veggies from Costco)… and I have dinner ready in less than 30 minutes, with minimal work!

I reduced the amount of ginger, but included the original amount below.  Next time, I might increase the chili powder, but even with 1/2 tsp the sauce was good- just a hint of flavor… not overwhelming or strong, but still tasty.

Stir Fry Sauce

slightly adapted from Cooks.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c cornstarch
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1 tb minced fresh ginger root, or 1 tsp dry ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 c soy sauce
  • 1/4 c cider vinegar
  • 2 c chicken/beef broth
  • 1/2 c dry sherry (optional)
  • 1/2 c water

Directions:

  • Combine cornstarch, sugar, ginger, garlic, and chili powder.
  • Add soy sauce & vinegar. Shake until blended.
  • Add broth, sherry, and water. Shake well.
  • Store in refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.  May be frozen.

I used a quart size mason jar to shake everything together.  It worked fine, as long as I used a 1/4 cup for measuring (the 1/2 cup was too big to pour into the jar).

7 thoughts on “Stir Fry Sauce

    • Hey Laura,
      That’s a really good question…. I don’t really measure it :). I use 3-4 ice cubes of frozen sauce for about 1 pound of veggies + 1 pound of chicken. If you’re using it as a liquid, I’d use enough to wet the bottom of your pan- maybe 1/3 cup? It’s really up you & how runny you like your stir fry.

  1. Made this to night turned out awsome love it only thing I did different was added two more teaspoons of corn starch for more thickness

Leave a Reply

