Crockpot Roasted Chicken

Well, I’m back.  Obviously, I’ve taken time off, from blogging & from trying out new recipes.  My health isn’t the greatest, although it had been improving, so I’ve been kind of distracted. I had a Crohn’s flare up & surgery on my deviated septum, plus my normal  dose of not feeling good.  But- I have been cooking some. And resting a lot.  I definitely don’t feel great, but I think having something to focus on will help.  So blogging, cooking and photography will be priorities, even if I have to force it.

Anyways, I thought my first recipe of 2013 should be comfort food.  After the holidays, it’s hard to put a lot of effort into meal planning & preparation, so here’s my solution: a whole chicken roasted in a crockpot.  At my local Albertson’s grocery store, a whole chicken is usually $1.09/lb.  That means this main dish is fairly cheap, easy to prepare, AND super tasty.  I recently served it to 4 adults for dinner, with enough leftovers for 2 lunches.

Crockpot Roasted Chicken

Slightly adapted from Budget Savvy Diva

crockpot roasted chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole roasting chicken
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Directions:

  • If your chicken comes with “extra” pieces in the abdominal cavity, make sure to remove them first
  • Mix all the spices together in a bowl; rub spice mixture onto the chicken
  • Cook chicken on high for 4-5 hours.  Use a meat thermometer to test for doneness.  The chicken will make its own juices & fall off the bone when done.
Leave a Reply

