Shepherd’s Pie

My mom has made shepherd’s pie for as long as I can remember.  Growing up, I liked the melty cheese.  As an adult, I like how easy & cheap it is to make. The last time I made it, I used leftover mashed potatoes, but you could also speed up the preparation by using instant potatoes if you wanted. I added more veggies to my mom’s recipe & made it gluten free, so know that this recipe is easy to customize.

Shepherd’s Pie

Adapted from Shellie McMaster’s recipe

Shepherd's Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 c ketchup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can green beans
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 3 c mashed potatoes
  • optional: sliced or shredded Cheddar

Directions:

  • Mix together hamburger, ketchup, egg, corn & beans.  Bake in a pie plate at 350, for about 30 minutes, or until the burger is browned
  • While the meat is cooking, make the mashed potatoes
  • Remove the meat from the oven & drain off any juices.  Spoon potatoes onto meat.  If desired, cover with cheese.
  • Bake at 350 for about 10 more minutes, or until cheese is melted and/or potatoes are warm
Leave a Reply

